USU Board Member Earns Prestigious Dental Award

USU Board Member Earns Prestigious Dental Award

Dr. Leo RouseLeo Rouse, DDS, FACP, a member of the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences Board of Regents was selected as the recipient of the American Dental Educators Association (ADEA) Distinguished Service Award.

The Distinguished Service Award is ADEA’s premier award and is presented by the association’s Board of Directors to an ADEA member who has made an extraordinary contribution to dental education through research, teaching or service.   

Dr. Rouse currently serves as Senior Scholar-in-Residence of the ADEA and Chair of the ADEAGies Foundation Board of Trustees in Washington, DC.  He is Professor and Dean Emeritus of the Howard University College of Dentistry in Washington, DC.   

Among his many contributions, Dr. Rouse served on the Expert Panel of the Interprofessional Education Collaborative (IPEC) representing the American Dental Education Association charged with developing the Core Competencies for IPEC. He also serves on the Board of Visitors of the University of Pittsburgh School of Dental Medicine, the Meharry Medical College School of Dentistry and Tufts University School of Dental Medicine.

From March 2010 to March 2013, he served as the ADEA principal officer and board member. Dr. Rouse is formerly the President of the ADEA Council of Deans and serves as one of the four ADEA Commissioners on the Commission of Dental Accreditation. Currently, he serves on the Board of Directors for the American Dental Association Foundation and the National Children's Oral Health Foundation. 

Before entering academia, he served in the United States Army for 24 years. Dr. Rouse concluded his military career at the rank of Colonel as Commander and Chief Operating Office of the U.S. Army Dental Command, commanding the entire Army Dental Corps worldwide. He is a Fellow of the American College of Dentists, and a member of many professional organizations including the American Dental Association, the National Dental Association, the Hispanic Dental Association, American Dental Education Association, American Association of Dental Boards and the Omicron Kappa Upsilon Dental Honor Society.

By Sharon Holland

Photo by Tom Balfour