Medicine (MED)

Department of Medicine

Uniformed Services University

Executive Committee

Chair: COL Kevin K. Chung, MD, FCCM, FACP

  • Vice Chair for Educational Programs: Paul A. Hemmer, MD, MPH
  • Vice Chair for Faculty Appointments and Promotions: Robert E. Goldstein, MD
  • (Interim) Vice Chair for Research: Kathleen P. Pratt, Ph.D.
  • Heath Professor Education Program: Steven Durning, MD, PhD
  • Associate Chair and Chief of Medicine: LTC Jayson Blaylock, MD
  • Deputy Chief of Medicine: LCDR Joseph E. Zeman, MD
  • Director of Medical Services: CAPT Saira Aslam, MD, FACC
  • Adminstrative Officer: Mrs Debra Weed

Specialty Division Directors

Educational Programs

  • Clerkship Director: William Kelly, MD
  • Fourth Year Programs: Maj Ellen E. Im, MD
  • Integrated Clinical Skills: Col Patrick Monahan, MD, MPH
  • Introduction to Clinical Reasoning (ICR): Michael Roy, MD, MPH; Steven Durning, MD, PhD
  • Madigan Site Director: Michael T.O. Stein, MD
  • Naval Medical Hospital Portsmouth Clerkship: LCDR Daniel J. Dean, MD
  • Naval Medical Hospital San Diego Clerkship: Elexis McBee, DO, MPH
  • San Antonio Mil Med Center (SAMMC) Clerkship: Maj David Lindholm, MD; Capt Asha R. De, MD
  • VA-Washington, DC, Assistant Clerkship Director: LCDR Raj Singaraju, MD, MPH
  • WRNMMC, Assistant Clerkship Director: LCDR Mary Andrews, MD, MPH, FACP

Program Support Staff


USU - 3rd Floor A Building

Building 53

  • Pamela Cross, General Internal Medicine, (301) 295-6820
  • Annette Cunningham, Clinical Pharmacology Division, (301) 295-3239
  • Vacant, NCOIC, Education Programs, (301) 295-9610
  • Myra Tu, Integrated Clinical Skills, (301) 295-9922
  • Vacant, 4th Year, Education Programs, 
  • Marcus McKinney, Education Programs, (301) 319-3800

Veteran's Administration

Naval Medical Center San Diego

  • Tina Schmitz, Clerkship Administration, Office: 619-532-9369; Cell: (619) 871-5932

Madigan Army Medical Center

  • Kathy Rogers, Clerkship Administration, Office: 253-968-5738; Cell: (301) 318-5392

San Antonio Military Medical Center

  • Vacant