Medicine (MED)

Medicine News

Department of Medicine newsletter coming soon.  Keep an eye on this space for new updates.





Recipients of the 2018 John Maher Award for Research Excellence


The Department of Medicine, USUHS proudly announces the selection of the 2018 John Maher Awards for Research Excellence, winners.

Lt Col Ian Stewart, MC, USAF, Associate Professor, Department of Medicine, USUHS Chief, Combat Casualty Care Research, Clinical Investigation Facility, 60th MDG, for his original research in the field of hypertension as published in the journal Hypertension (which also received an Editorial Commentary): Howard JT, Sosnov JA, Janak JC, Gundlapalli AV, Pettey WB, Walker LE, and Stewart IJ. Associations of Initial Injury Severity and Posttraumatic Stress Disorder Diagnoses With Long-Term Hypertension Risk After Combat Injury. Hypertension 2018;71:824-832.


This is the first paper that correlated injury severity and PTSD after combat related trauma to a long term risk of hypertension. Since its publication in May, this paper was mentioned in 22 new outlets as well as multiple social media sites. As of today, Altmetric has rated this paper among the 98th percentile among all outputs of the same age.

Lt Col Ian Stewart, Maher Award Lt Col Ian Stewart, Maher Award


COL (Ret) Nelson Michael, MD, USA, Professor, Department of Medicine, USUHS Deputy Director, Henry Jackson Foundation Component, Military HIV research Program, Henry Jackson Foundation, for his research contribution as senior author of the article published in Lancet. Modjarrad K et alia and Michael NL “Preliminary aggregate safety and immunogenicity results from three trials of a purified inactivated Zika virus vaccine candidate: phase 1, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled clinical trials.”  Lancet 2018. 391:563-71.


The paper describes safety and immunogenicity of one of the first reported Zika Virus vaccines tested in human subjects. Dr. Michael directed the three phase 1 randomized controlled trials described in this paper from vaccine production at the Walter Reed Army Institute of Research to conclusion of these trials. To put this into perspective, this paper was published less than 2 years after the link with microcephaly and Zika virus infection was reported from Recife, Brazil.

COL (Ret) Nelson Michael, Maher Award COL (Ret) Nelson Michael, Maher Award