Medicine (MED)

Department of Medicine

Uniformed Services University

Medicine News

2016 Maher Awards for Excellence in Research to be awarded: Lara Varpio, PhD, & LTC Jason Regules, MC, USA

The Department of Medicine, USUHS proudly announces the selection of the Recipients of the 2016 John Maher Awards for Research Excellence.

Lara Varpio, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Dept. of Medicine, USUHS

Associate Director, Research, Graduate Programs in Health Professions Education, Dept. of Medicine, for her original research on the impact of changing technology (EHR use) on both the understanding of education as well as clinical care as published in the April 28, 2015 issue of Medical Education.


“As electronic health records (EHRs) are adopted by teaching hospitals, educators must examine how this change impacts trainee development. This influence is investigated by studying clinician experiences of a hospital's move from paper charts to an EHR. Questions asked: how does each chart modality present conceptions of time and data  interconnections? How do these conceptions affect clinical reasoning?”

Read the full article


LTC Jason Regules, MC, USA , Assistant Professor, Dept. of Medicine, USUHS

Deputy Director, Division of Clinical Research, USARID, Ft. Detrick, for his original research in the field of infectious diseases as published in the New England Journal of Medicine, April 1, 2015, “Recombinant Vesicular Stomatitis Virus: Ebola Vaccine — Preliminary Report”.


“The current Ebola virus disease (EVD) outbreak has resulted in more than 24,000 cases and 10,000 deaths. We present a preliminary report from two phase 1 trials of an attenuated, replication-competent, recombinant vesicular stomatitis virus (rVSV)–based vaccine candidate to prevent EVD”.

Read the full article

ACGME Parker J. Palmer Courage to Teach Award

2016-17 Awardee: CAPT William Shimeall

Bill ShimeallThe USUHS  Dept. of Medicine  is proud to announce that CAPT William Shimeall has been selected by the Accreditation Council on Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) to receive the prestigious Parker J. Palmer Courage to Teach Award.

The Parker J. Palmer Courage to Teach Award honors program directors who find innovative ways to teach residents and to provide quality health care while remaining connected to the initial impulse to care for others in this environment. Parker J. Palmer's book The Courage to Teach promotes the concept of "living divided no more," which has proven relevant to teaching in academic health centers.  Only 10 Program Directors are selected each year for this prestigious award from approximately 500 nominations. 

CAPT Shimeall is an Associate Professor of Medicine in the Division of General Internal Medicine, and assigned to the Walter Reed National Military Medical Center, Bethesda, MD.