PAT MSIV Courses

MSIV Contacts

Student Coordinator
Dr. Norton Stuart (210) 916-2118
norton.stuart@amedd.army.mil

Residency Director
LTC Rocky Reston (210) 292-7956
rocky.reston@lackland.af.mil

GME Office
Patricia Trevino
(210) 916-4512
patricia.trevino@amedd.army.mil

**Contact Department before you go the the GME Office. 

Student Coordinator
MAJ James Sellars
(706) 787-7005
Pgr (706) 787-0818
james.sellars@us.army.mil

GME Office
Caren Ernsperger
(706) 787-1648
caren.b.ernsperger@us.army.mil

Student Coordinator
COL Joseph P. Miller
(253) 968-1975
joseph.perretty.miller@us.army.mil

Residency Director
Kathy Rogers
(253) 968-1511
kathy.s.rogers.civ@mail.mil

GME Office
Mary Jane Slade
(757) 953-7001
mary.slade@med.navy.mil

2nd half of 4th year only (interns first half)

Student Coordinator
Gay Cornelius
(757) 953-5109

gay.cornelius@med.navy.mil

Residency Director
Mary Duran
(757) 953-3270

mary.duran@med.navy.mil

GME Office
Mary Jane Slade
(757) 953-7001

mary.slade@med.navy.mil

Student Coordinator
Mrs. Erin Quiko
619-532-9369
erin.quiko@med.navy.mil

Secretary
Rose Si Fuentes
(619) 532-7270
rose.sifuentes@med.navy.mil

Student Coordinator
Dr. Michael Fahlgren
(301) 295-4455 ext. 168
michael.fahlgren@med.navy.mil

GME Office
Leanda Dulaney
(301) 319-8278
leanda.dulaney@med.navy.mil

ICU Scheduling Office
Kathryn Bomysoad
(301) 295-5790
kathryn.bomysoad@usuhs.edu

Student Coordinator
Dr. Kimberly Kelly-Harper
Pager (808) 577-1129
kimberly.kelly-harper@amedd.army.mil

GME Office
Gary Christal
(808) 433-2457
gary.christal@us.army.mil

Amata Taifane
(808) 433-6982
amata.taifane@us.army.mil

Secretary
Gina Dickinson
gina.dickinson@amedd.army.mil

Student Coordinator
LTC Rocky Reston
(210) 292-7956
rocky.reston@lackland.af.mil

GME Office
Sharyn Heights
(210) 292-7443
sharyn.heights@lackland.af.mil

Jaime Acevedo
(210) 292-7441
jaime.acevedo@lackland.af.mil

Student Coordinator
Dr. Jeffrey Sagel
(202) 782-0039
Jeffrey.sagel@amedd.army.mil

ICU Coordinator
Dr. Christian Popa
(202) 782-0039
christian.popa@amedd.army.mil

GME Office
Naima Grove
(202) 782-6754
naima.grove@amedd.army.mil

Pathology Clerkship

Department Website: PAT

Course #: PAR 4100 Pathology Clerkship

Duration: 4
Hours: 5
Grading: (Pass/Fail)

Clerkship Objective: The objective of the pathology clerkship is to provide students with an opportunity to enhance their knowledge and obtain a greater understanding of the scope of a pathologist’s duties in the hospital setting.  The specialty of pathology is divided into anatomic and clinical pathology. Anatomic pathology can be classified by three broad areas including surgical pathology, cytopathology, and autopsy pathology. Surgical pathology is the gross and microscopic examination of surgical resections and biopsy samples including intraoperative frozen section.  Surgical pathology is divided into subspecialties based on body site/tumor type. Cytopathology includes of examination pap smears, needle aspirates, brushings, and fluid collection to provide minimally invasive diagnoses. Autopsy pathology is the examination of the deceased to clarify the physiologic derangements that caused death for the purposes of general medical knowledge (hospital autopsies) or medicolegal purposes (forensic autopsies).  Clinical pathology includes lab medicine as well as oversight and administration of patient laboratories. It includes areas such as transfusion medicine (blood bank), hematology and coagulation, clinical chemistry, and microbiology. In addition to exploring a broad cross section of the pathology specialty, students will be expected to attend intradepartmental conferences (interesting case conferences) and interdepartmental conferences (tumor board).

Students interested in pursuing pathology as a career would benefit from a rotation in pathology at one of the primary sites listed below that maintain active pathology residency. The rotation should be designed to gain experiences in both anatomic and clinical pathology.

Students not interested in a career in pathology, but interested in an overview of laboratory medicine would benefit from a rotation at one of the teachings hospitals with their time divided between anatomic and clinical pathology.

Additionally, students may seek to tailor a rotation in pathology around their particular specialty of interest.  For example students interested in…: 

  • orthopedic surgery could study bone pathology at the Joint Pathology Center,
  • general surgery could focus on anatomic pathology and transfusion medicine
  • Operational medicine could work with combat related death investigation at OAFME
  • nephrology could examine renal biopsies at the JPC,
  • dermatology could focus on skin biopsies and the subspecialty of dermatopathology,
  • anesthesiology could focus on blood banking and transfusion medicine.

Description: Students and Clerkship director design a clerkship from the following pathology subspecialties:

1. Anatomic Pathology
(A) Surgical Pathology, frozen section diagnosis & immunochemistry
(B) Cytopathology with fine needle aspiration
(C) Autopsy Pathology (Medical and Forensic)
(D) Forensic Pathology
 
2. Clinical Lab Medicine
(A) Clinical Chemistry
(B) Microbiology
(C) Hematopathology/coagulation
(D) Blood bank
 
3. Other subspecialties such as dermatopathology, hematopathology, breast pathology, gyn pathology, urologic pathology, neuropathology, pediatric pathology, and more. Please contact the Pathology Dept Clerkship Coordinator for specifics.

Comments: Department approval is required prior to registering for any Pathology clerkship. Please contact the USUHS pathology department to confirm available space.  You can then submit an application with the site directly.  Please have USU Form 114, for rotation at a non residency site or civilian site, filled out and ready for approval when arranging a pathology clerkship. In addition to the primary pathology clerkship sites listed below, rotations can be arranged at most military hospitals and many civilian institutions. For further info, contact Dr. Arthur Clarkson Maj, MC, USAF, ( arthur.clarkson@usuhs.mil ), (Clerkship Coordinator),  Dr. Barbara Knollmann-Ritschel, CAPT,MC, USN, ( bknollmann@usuhs.mil), or Elizabeth White (Program Administrator) (bwhite@usuhs.mil) at the USUHS Pathology Dept. at 295-3460.

Primary Pathology Clerkship/Residency Sites: WRNMC, SAMMC, MAMC, NMCSC
 
Other recent sites used:  BRMC, DGMC, EAMC, JPC, PMMC, TAMC, USUB, WBMC, OAFME