PAT MSIV Courses

MSIV Contacts

Student Coordinator
Dr. Norton Stuart (210) 916-2118
norton.stuart@amedd.army.mil

Residency Director
LTC Rocky Reston (210) 292-7956
rocky.reston@lackland.af.mil

GME Office
Patricia Trevino
(210) 916-4512
patricia.trevino@amedd.army.mil

**Contact Department before you go the the GME Office. 

Student Coordinator
MAJ James Sellars
(706) 787-7005
Pgr (706) 787-0818
james.sellars@us.army.mil

GME Office
Caren Ernsperger
(706) 787-1648
caren.b.ernsperger@us.army.mil

Student Coordinator
COL Joseph P. Miller
(253) 968-1975
joseph.perretty.miller@us.army.mil

Residency Director
Kathy Rogers
(253) 968-1511
kathy.s.rogers.civ@mail.mil

GME Office
Mary Jane Slade
(757) 953-7001
mary.slade@med.navy.mil

2nd half of 4th year only (interns first half)

Student Coordinator
Gay Cornelius
(757) 953-5109

gay.cornelius@med.navy.mil

Residency Director
Mary Duran
(757) 953-3270

mary.duran@med.navy.mil

GME Office
Mary Jane Slade
(757) 953-7001

mary.slade@med.navy.mil

Student Coordinator
Mrs. Erin Quiko
619-532-9369
erin.quiko@med.navy.mil

Secretary
Rose Si Fuentes
(619) 532-7270
rose.sifuentes@med.navy.mil

Student Coordinator
Dr. Michael Fahlgren
(301) 295-4455 ext. 168
michael.fahlgren@med.navy.mil

GME Office
Leanda Dulaney
(301) 319-8278
leanda.dulaney@med.navy.mil

ICU Scheduling Office
Kathryn Bomysoad
(301) 295-5790
kathryn.bomysoad@usuhs.edu

Student Coordinator
Dr. Kimberly Kelly-Harper
Pager (808) 577-1129
kimberly.kelly-harper@amedd.army.mil

GME Office
Gary Christal
(808) 433-2457
gary.christal@us.army.mil

Amata Taifane
(808) 433-6982
amata.taifane@us.army.mil

Secretary
Gina Dickinson
gina.dickinson@amedd.army.mil

Student Coordinator
LTC Rocky Reston
(210) 292-7956
rocky.reston@lackland.af.mil

GME Office
Sharyn Heights
(210) 292-7443
sharyn.heights@lackland.af.mil

Jaime Acevedo
(210) 292-7441
jaime.acevedo@lackland.af.mil

Student Coordinator
Dr. Jeffrey Sagel
(202) 782-0039
Jeffrey.sagel@amedd.army.mil

ICU Coordinator
Dr. Christian Popa
(202) 782-0039
christian.popa@amedd.army.mil

GME Office
Naima Grove
(202) 782-6754
naima.grove@amedd.army.mil

Uniformed Services University

Pathology Clerkship

Type: 
Fourth Year Clerkship
Course List: 

 

Course #: PAR 4100 Pathology Clerkship
Duration: 4
Hours: 5
Grading: (Pass/Fail)

The objective of the pathology clerkship is to provide the students an opportunity to enhance their knowledge of pathology and experience the practice of pathology in a hospital setting. The specialty of pathology is divided into anatomic and clinical pathology. Anatomic pathology consists of examination of surgical specimens which includes frozen sections on surgical specimens as well as biopsy evaluation from all body areas, cytology specimens including pap smears and fine needle aspirations, and autopsy pathology including medical and forensic autopsies. Subspecialties, such as, cytopathology, neuropathology and dermatopathology are included in anatomic pathology. Clinical pathology traditionally includes the areas of chemistry, microbiology, hematology and coagulation, and blood banking. Sub specialties such as Hematopathology and blood banking are included in clinical pathology. Within the discipline are also specialized areas of pathology such as forensic medicine. Students are expected to attend departmental conferences as well as participate in interdisciplinary conferences such as tumor boards during their rotation.